Godforsaken Idaho (Paperback)

$15.95
On Our Shelves Now
Fact & Fiction
1 on hand, as of Jul 23 12:06am (Fiction)

Description


For fans of George Saunders and Raymond Carver, this powerful, imaginative story collection takes readers on a journey from the afterlife to contemporary times to the early days of Mormonism—a stunning debut  by an acclaimed McSweeney’s and Tin House contributor.  

Praise for Godforsaken Idaho…


“Shawn Vestal’s Godforsaken Idaho is a wickedly funny, surprisingly profound collection. These nine stories of prophets and parents, of doppelgangers and pocket dogs, form a thrilling introduction to one of the wryest, most inventive new voices in fiction.”
—Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins 
 
Godforsaken Idaho mixes the hardpan realism of Richard Ford's Rock Springs with the dreadful wonder of Dan Chaon's best stories. In the lyrical beauty of his sentences, in the brutal choices his characters must make, and in the heartbreaking landscape itself, Shawn Vestal finds startling moments of grace and unexpected redemption.” —Kim Barnes, author of In the Kingdom of Men

“Shutter your windows—Godforsaken Idaho is an awesome storm of history, grit, and revelatory imagination. These stories take huge risks and simply do not falter. Shawn Vestal has set out to reimagine the American West, and he’s done so with the soulful, single-minded purpose of a half-mad pioneer.”
—Patrick Somerville, author of This Bright River and The Cradle

Product Details ISBN-10: 0544027760
ISBN-13: 9780544027763
Published: New Harvest, 04/02/2013
Pages: 224
Language: English